Continuing a 36-Year Tradition of Honoring and Celebrating the
Range and Diversity of Professional and Scholarly Publishing

About the PSP PROSE Awards

The PROSE Awards recognize the very best in professional and scholarly publishing by bringing attention to distinguished books, journals and electronic content, published annually.  Judged by a distinguished panel of peer publishers, librarians, academics and medical professionals, and presented since 1976, the PROSE Awards are extraordinary for their breadth and depth.

Each year, publishers and authors are recognized at the PSP Annual Conference in Washington, DC, for their commitment to pioneering works of research and for contributing to the conception, production and design of landmark works in their fields.  The R.R. Hawkins Award, presented to the most outstanding work among the publications selected, has been given to more than 36 works since its inception.  Indeed, winners represent a broad range of disciplines: they have included Atlas of Clinical Gross Anatomy (Elsevier), The Dream of the Poem (Princeton University Press) and Atlas of the Transatlantic Slave Trade (Yale University Press). The 2011 R.R. Hawkins Award was presented to McGraw-Hill Professional for The Diffusion Handbook by R.K. Michael Thambynayagam.